Our 7 day food challenge!

So today is the final day of our food challenge, and while I am extremely proud of C, I was quite surprised that it turned out to be more of a challenge for me than for him. George-Bernard-Shaw

What you may not know about me is that I was, as a child, an extremely fussy eater. I still remember the feeling of fear when a new food was placed infront of me and I’m ashamed to say that this was something that carried on until I fell pregnant with C when I was 23 years old and really started focusing on eating healthily (although it’s still something I struggle with now).

That’s what spurred me to do this as being picky makes life a whole lot harder. You can’t go out for meals, it’s awkward when you eat at someone’s house… You know the drill.

Anyway, I do not want this for C. I want him to enjoy food and be healthy, after all food is the spice of life!. So I took myself out of my comfort zone, C out of his, and I introduced him to 1 new food every day for a week. Here’s how it went:

Monday: Red pepper (something we haven’t revisited since weaning when he rejected it).

Status: Feel free to check out my previous post about day 1 on the epic FAIL of this!

smoothie

Tuesday: Smoothies: (click here for recipe). The last time I tried these, he deemed them disgusting and then spat it out all over the floor!

Status: Success! The orange went down better than the strawberry but I put this down to the strawberries being a bit sharp. I will be experimenting with adding veg to these very soon!

11078184_10153299138321264_8820274147596773522_n

Wednesday: Quinoa. I wasn’t sure how he would react to this on it’s own so I coated chicken with it and made chicken nuggets. After telling him they were fish fingers (he calls anything with breadcrumbs fish fingers) he ate 1 of them which is reasonably good.

Status: Win!

muffins

Thursday: Savoury muffins. We made carrot and cheese muffins together and C gobbled down 5 in a row!  (Recipe here)

Status: Epic Win!! (But then they did resemble cakes)

noodles

Friday: Noodles. I’ve always steered clear of noodles for one reason or another. It was more because I thought he’d reject them as they were a bit different so this one was more about getting me out of my comfort zone. I served them with a marscapone pasta sauce as this is one of his favourites.

Status: Success! And he’s asked for them every day since!

Saturday: Cucumber (another thing he rejected while weaning and I never tried again). I cut the skin off as he’s always been funny about skins and just placed it on his plate as a side. I ensured that I didn’t bring any attention to it too.very important to avoid any power struggles or tantrums! I also told him he didn’t have to eat it if he didn’t want to.

Status: Bear in mind that I was exposing this to him every day from the beginning of the week by just putting it on his plate. He didn’t touch it until today when he asked me for a sticker (on his reward chart) if he tasted it. He took the tiniest bite but I still see this as a win!

sweet potato

Sunday: Sweet potato (a food he used to eat baked but then decided he hated because it was the same colour as a carrot!). I chopped this into chip shapes, roasted in theoven and served as a side with fish fingers.

Status: After initially refusing to eat it, he tried a small bit and decided that they were actually quite tasty! Success!

I really would recommend this to anyone dealing with a fussy eater as it exposes them to a whole host of new foods. And I even got an extra little surprise when he tasted a carrot on day 2 (though hasn’t eaten one since so not sure if this was a success or not!).

Next step: Try a new vegetable everyday for 10 days before moving on to the next. If he takes to it well then incorporate it into his everyday meals. (studies have shown that it takes at least 10 tries before their little taste buds accept or reject them). Wish me luck!

Mummascribbles
15 thoughts on “Our 7 day food challenge!

  1. I’m glad I finally found this! very good ideas louise. I’m going to try a couple of them. John loves chritzo s assuage so I do a pasta in a tomato pepper and carrot sauce with chritzo. good luck x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wooah- you are both doing so well! This is fantastic progress. I love that anything with breadcrumbs on is fish fingers. I tried this with McDonalds chicken nuggets – it was not a success!

    I really admire your patience with this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow you have some really great ideas here! I never thought to make chicken nuggets with quinoa, and the carrot and cheese muffins sound interesting. Might give them a try! #twinklytuesday
    Sabrina x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I could written this hun – when I was a child my step father used to make me sit at the table until I had eaten everything on my plate, my mum worked nights, she used to come home and find me asleep at the table – so pressure and force is definitely not a good way to help children. I am an extremely fussy eater, like you and I too struggle at dinner parties and even at lunch time at work, we have a huge restaurant and I often dislike most of what they offer. I too have been trying to try new things since my little man arrived. I really don’t want him to be fussy like me, so I have been struggling, although thanks to lovely bloggers I am finding more and more ideas. I will definitely be giving this a go, as well as ‘family style’ dinners, buffet style where they can pick their own foods. I will be trying both.

    Have you tried letting him make his own traffic lights on a stick? They made traffic lights at nursery, they were allowed to choose their own foods, and he chose, tomato for red, cheese for yellow and green pepper for green, he actually ate the pepper! He has never eaten a pepper before.

    Kat x #TwinklyTuesday

    Like

    1. Hiya, what a great idea! I will definately be trying the traffic light idea! What did they stick them on to to make the traffic lights though? Buffet style emals are also a great idea, I have been experimenting with this but will have to make it a regular thing!
      Im so glad to hear that there is someone else is the same position as me! x

      Like

      1. Nursery used a stick, like for kebabs, and threaded the veg onto the stick in the correct order to look like traffic lights. It was safety week at Nursery. I will keep reading your blog and look forward to hearing more x

        Like

  5. Wow this is incredible! Well done to BOTH of you! Mine is a fussy eater too, there’s no way he’d touch cucumber now! I will have to have a little re-read of your blog, lovely. I am really interested in your progress. 🙂 I am keen to share recipe ideas/tactics etc, please feel free to tweet me or email me! My LO is 19 months old and doesn’t quite get the concept of reward stickers, so I’m not sure our tactics would be exactly the same. You may be interested in reading this post http://lukeosaurusandme.blogspot.co.uk/2015/03/fight-against-fuss.html Ray xx @ lukeosaurusandme.blogspot.co.uk #twinklytuesday

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou so much! It would be lovely to sway ideas and tactics! My facebook is http://www.facebook.com/fussylittleeater if you want to connect there too.
      Its definately different with different ages, the reward chard would not have worked when C was 19 months, it makes it a lot easier when you can bribe them! I will hop on over to your page now and have a read :). Its nice to know that someone else is in the same position as me! Its so difficut with a fussy eater isnt it?! Louise xx

      Like

    1. Haha! When I was pregnant I literally had to force myself to eat things that I didn’t like until I got used to them! I also still hide things in foods for me and my partner to get us to eat healthier!

      Like

Leave a Reply

